Finding Bravery!

Hello,

I thought it was time I got caught up. Where to start…. You might remember the posts I send out about up coming art shows that you could maybe challenge yourself with and enter? Well I did exactly that, I send works out into the big world and hoped for the best. Now I was not accepting into every one of the shows I applied for, but with effort and a new sense of what it means to be brave I did get into Two!

Yes it is true this Thursday April 4th 7-9pm You can see two of my very new and hot off the press monotypes on display in what I think to be amazing frames, that I put together myself! I think they look good and the owner of Sopa Art Gallery did too! The two images can be found in Sopa’s annual U8 show. This show will have over 40 artists and 400 works of art all for under $800. To learn more about this amazing art gallery, or how to get involved for next year check out their web page.

http://www.sopafinearts.com/

For those of you whom can not make it to the show for various reasons here they are:

Monotype V

Monotype I

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second show…… Yep you got it the Okanagan Erotic Art Show. Just wild, you never know what the jury is going to pick and well they pick me to be one of the artists to show in this years event. The links for this show, and information about the event which happens this summer are in the “Unspoken Secrets” Blog.  I was really surprised I had created a few over the top girly images that were quit abstract and thought at the last day… I just gotta go for it!

Here they are!Pear

Tganson Out side of my monotype madness, I have actually been finding time to work on my painting skills. I must confess I did take a class, and at first it was a bit nerve racking, but I found it so very helpful. The painting below was created with the same techniques we did our class, well almost, I did this one in full colour. I challenged my colour mixing abilities, and I think I did a’ok. I choose to re due the same type of painting to reinforce what I had learned in the class. Not only did I learn something new, I retained most of what I was taught… now I have to apply those same concepts to create my critters.

So this is what I have been up to all winter. I hope to have a few new paints done very soon, and also plan on posting more often.

Be Brave! and you will always learn something.

Trina

Perhaps you to will consider taking a class, that is if you were having as much trouble as I was, other wise keep on painting on!

Oil painting in stages:

2013-02-05 08.30.26-1 2013-02-12 10.56.52 2013-03-01 10.43.44

About Trina

A Quirky little artist who is always working like a mad lady in the studio. View all posts by Trina

One response to “Finding Bravery!

  • Sea

    Lovely to hear from you Trina. I love your mono types. Happy to do a trade some time when I have an acrylic class. I’m sorry I’m going to miss U8 and the Erotic Show this year. I just couldn’t do everything. Congrats on being courageous and encouraging others to jump in.

Leave a Reply

