Bring on the Winter of 2014

Happy New Year!

Wow! I have neglected my post for sometime. Where to start…. Well I did a tone of canning in early fall, and I got a dehydrator so you can only image how many things I tested out in that. And yes they are worth it! Life was such a whirl wind so many things to do, and so much art to see and create. Art walk was amazing! My studio mates and I did it as a group and we had so much fun, a must do for next year. I did a few other really really great artisan shows, they are always such a treat, and I am always so thankful to be apart of them. Studio 113 had their annual art show and that was a blast. A live band, lots of wine, what else could we ask for.

I am now apart of an online gallery http://ballantynegallery.ca/

I also started to use a new type of sewing for my handmade books. I just love how they lye flat. Those can be seen on etsy.  http://www.etsy.com/shop/TGanson

Check them out and let me know what you think. Feed back is always appreciated.

 

So now that we are at the start of 2014 I have started a few new challenges/goals, that I hope will last the year.

Goal Number 1: Do at least a one art work a day!

A few artists and I have decided to challenge our selves to create at least one 6×6 art work a day. They do not need to be masterpieces just a creative something to get the ideas flowing. To play/learn about art supplies and how they can and cannot work together.  So far so good. You can check in on us via Instagram & Twitter by searching #opus6x6, or, #oneaday If you and I are FB Friends then just check out my One a day photo album.

Goal Number 2: A mini blog everyday… so that means not only will you be able to see my ‘one a day’, but you’ll get to read about the process, etc. Something that I am not doing on Twitter, or FB. Something I hope you will not only enjoy but also be inspired by.

So to catch you up here is what I have created so far:

Day 1Day 1: Facing the 365 days of this challenge, Yikes! Needles to say I was feeling over whelmed, so day one is a picture of the supplies I was going to begin my journey with. My trusted travel companion, the watercolours.

 

 

 

 

Day 2Day 2: A quick watercolour sketch to try and capture one of the amazing views during our snowmobile / ice fishing day trip. Each turn there and back was just breath taking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 3Day 3: Still captured in my memories of the snowy trip, I want to keep it simple and play with the idea of the square. As I have certain reservations about the square. The shape is challenge all on it’s own for this lady. So here is it a Frank Lloyd Wright inspired snowflake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 4Day 4: Well I had all day to think and create this work. I still had uncertainties about the square so instead I used a circle. Beginning with a little watercolour, and detailing with a lot of coloured pencil a critter emerged. I based this image off of an old document in a sailors log about a sea creature, and here is my whimsical version of that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 5Day 5: The day before I had went for a pedal break (yes in January you can still ride your bike) and the sunset was just magnificent so instead of taking a picture it did this little square by memory of how those moments struck me. Again I find myself digging in my pencil box.  There is just something about coloured pencil, but this time instead of watercolour I used black ink.

 

 

 

 

 

Day 6Day 6: I wasn’t finished with this sunset, it was just not enough luminosity in it. So I tried again, but with a lot of improvisation. I added shimmer, which by the way is not something that has ever struck my fancy. But this is a challenge and an opportunity to allow myself to play, so why not. Turns out I really like shimmer… and am interested in figuring out how to use it more often. This mini was created with iridescent gold, interference violet and green-blue, and willow charcoal. Lots of fun, and will most likely do this style of mixed media again.

 

 

 

 

Day 7Today, Day 7: Well the shimmer adventure is not over with me. I did another circle, and more water, but this time I added just a bit of shimmer. This mini work will be a two or more day work, because this one is now covered with a Kroma crackle medium. I hope to draw on before the crackle is fully dry, as I read on the tube it can take up to three days to fully crack. Image what the drawn/painted element on the surface will look like in the end.

 

 

 

 

Thanks for having a read, and know that they will be shorter after today.

Hugs Trina

About Trina

A Quirky little artist who is always working like a mad lady in the studio. View all posts by Trina

Leave a Reply

