One a Day – Day 10

Ten days already! What a great 2014 it has been so far! I think I may start to do the blog post the morning after my challenge day. Ie: Day 11 will be post the morning of Day 12. That way I can take a better picture of the work I’m showing so the details and the subtleties are clear, as it may spark an idea for your own practice. But until then night seems to be the best time to write, so evening posts it is for now.

I am happy to say Day 7 is finally finished. I wasn’t up to really working the image as I felt that it was pretty much finished, but I did outline the image to give it a more illustrative look, as well as help define certain areas. Let me know what you think.

Day 7d

Day 9 has cracked! The black gelatinous mass has given way to the shimmer. Isn’t it incredible how much this image has changed! I knew that it would change, but not like this. It is a wonderful and great surprise! I haven’t began to add to this image yet, but I’m think a simple white wash to establish an emerging creature or just a simple graphite drawing… I should have something for this soon, but until then here it is. Since shimmery things look best in person because they change with the movement of light, this is the best photo I could get. I think it still looks pretty cool!

Day 9b

Day 10 is just a simple sketch book study for another gelli squid like creature. I am just working out ideas for both the watercolour ground and a couple of block prints. I think I’m getting close to a new series of works! Which is very exciting because I see these images as starting to get large, which is great as I have been working quite small for sometime and need to challenge myself with size.

Day 10

Happy Friday!

Trina

 

About Trina

A Quirky little artist who is always working like a mad lady in the studio. View all posts by Trina

Leave a Reply

