Day 9 – Evolution

I just love to document a work of art as it evolves. Not only is it amazing to watch the evolution, but it also reveals something about our creative thought process. And each time you do one, or watch another artists process, each of us do it in a different way. I have been having so much fun with my mini works, and am in love with the images I am revisiting. Not to mention that I am trying out products that I wouldn’t normally give a second thought to. Today I started to think about different surfaces to use,and it boils down to: My wheels are turning!

The Shimmer adventure; Day 7 spilling into Day 8 and Day 9 is here! With one more day to go, I am not sure what I want to do next. That’s the fun part anything goes with the challenge to push your creative self.

Day 7c

It’s hard to believe how much this critter has changed in just one day. Even the crackle… WOW! I really like how the crackle has worked with my critter, just giving it the right amount of texture to allude to its deep water incrustations. So much fun, and I continued to work in more shimmer… To much?

But before I got to part three of Day 7, I did hang out with my sketch book and work on a drawing that may become a Day 10 block print… still not sure as I have this Daniel Smith Watercolour ground that I am anxious to try. My Artist friend Brandy Masch uses this product.. and I like how the watercolour sits on/in it so I think I should give it a go. So Thank you Brandy for the inspiration, to try something new.

Here are some links for you to investigate. http://www.brandymasch.com/#!   http://www.danielsmith.com/

Day 8

But until I make up my mind to carve or paint, I still had to do an actual Day 9… So here it is!

Day 9

A black gelatinous mass of awesome Kroma Crackle! Yep I mixed it with carbon black, and the under painting may or may not be shimmer…. As I write this it has begun to crack, and I am excited to embark on another evolving creative process. Although I have some ideas on what I would like to do… you’ll just have to wait…….

Cheers for now.

Trina

Leave a comment